Elsing is a small village of some 230 folk situated in mid Norfolk about 6 or so miles from Dereham. The Village, which comes under the auspices of Breckland District Council, is quite spread out and consists of the areas of Peaseland Green, Elsing, Mill Street and the quaintly named ‘Fustyweed’
We have a rich history going back to Viking times and beyond. ‘Helsinga’, later Elsing is named after a danish chieftain ‘Elesa’ who is pictured on our village sign with his hunting hound.
There are several historical buildings in the village. The Church of St. Mary was built in 1340 during the reign of Edward the Third. It has one of the widest unsupported naves in East Anglia and possibly England. It is home to the Hastings Brass which is the first known brass in England to have been decorated with coloured glass.
The popular village pub ‘The Mermaid Inn’ was built circa 1540 during the reign of King Henry the VIII.
Elsing Hall our splendid Moated Manor House was built circa 1470 during the reign of Edward the Fourth, the first ‘Yorkist’ King during the “Wars of the Roses.'(http://elsinghall.com)
Ours is nowadays a small village but yet it still boasts a Guild House, perhaps an expression of former glory days.
Modern day Elsing is a friendly quiet village, on the Wensum Way, where there is still time to appreciate a walk in beautiful countryside, enjoy a full English breakfast at the monthly Saturday Market at the Village Hall (https://sites.google.com/site/elsingvillagehall/home) or drink in the pub amongst friends.